00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

twinkle123 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Best 150$ "GOOD HIGHS" Headphones?

1,390 Views | 21 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hello everyone.
This thread is a bit long only to give you as many details as possible to help me; thanks for the patience.

I always used rather cheap headphones in my life, specially in the 30-50$ range, but in the recent years i started to get most of my tracks from CDS (so higher quality than mp3s) and bought flacs (like from the hdtracks shop).
I have started developing a taste for decent audio files and my favourite music genres have become progressive rock and classic synthwave music from the 70s.
These genres, unlike pop-dance-club-metal ecc, rely more on the dynamic, detail and richness of the sound rather than power and bass (i'm no musician, sorry for using such basic words).

Note that I also started to pretty easily hear the difference between mp3 320 files and better quality ones (such as m4a, flac or Wav).

A month ago i decided to evolve a little and purchase a 100$ headphones.
Unfortunately i don't have any audiophile friends and i wanted to purchase something i could find in stores (for warranty reasons) so i ended up purchasing the "Sennheiser HD 4.30", not professional grade headphones by any means but surely better than super-cheap phones.

The phones were a step up from my cheap old ones, both in sound quality and build construction, and i was pleasantly surprised by the bass response; simply put all of my music sounded better.
However most of my music, as described before, has quite rich dynamics and the high frequencies still "crackled" a very little (however much less than with any other phones i used).